Contribute Today

AvonLink and MerredinLink trip pays off for locals, winners announced

For more information, contact Mia Davies (Leader | Member for Central Wheatbelt).

Local Member for Central Wheatbelt Mia Davies MLA is again encouraging AvonLink and MerredinLink travellers to enter a competition to win a Smart Commuter card. 

“The competition is about rewarding locals patronising both the AvonLink and MerredinLink train services,” Ms Davies said

“It is also about encouraging residents to use the service whenever possible to demonstrate how valuable this train is for the region.

“The future of services can be directly and positively impacted through increased patronage.”

The Smart Commuter card entitles winners to 35% off all TransWA commuter train travel which includes the AvonLink, MerredinLink and Australind for all of 2016.

To enter the competition patrons simply need to drop their used train ticket into the boxes provided in Ms Davies electorate office in Northam or Merredin.

The winners for the February prize drawn yesterday by Ms Davies and Northam businessman Mr Rob Tinetti, were Yvette Wooltorton and Donald Bear from Northam and Elizabeth Lane from Merredin. There is one draw remaining at the end of this month. 

The AvonLink train service is currently part of a three year trial funded through Royalties for Regions to trial new ticketing and timetables in an effort to increase patronage.

The proposal for the new service was developed by a working group of representatives from the Public Transport Authority, Wheatbelt Development Commission, Shires of Northam and Toodyay and community representatives.

“The Avon Valley has been identified as a growth area for the State and a daily public train service to and from the region is critical to catering for future population and economy growth and prosperity,” Ms Davies said.

“It is also a valuable and safe service for those that are unable to drive, catering for our seniors, those with disabilities and our youth.”

All winners will be notified and announced on Hot FM Radiowest.