Contribute Today

More Independent Public Schools for Central Wheatbelt electorate

For more information, contact Mia Davies (Leader | Member for Central Wheatbelt).

School communities across the Central Wheatbelt have again embraced the State Government’s Independent Public Schools (IPS) initiative.

Five schools in the Central Wheatbelt electorate are among 73 to gain independent status in 2017.

Central Wheatbelt MP, Mia Davies MLA, said there had been a detailed development and selection process.

“Barriers that used to prevent principals and staff from providing the very best teaching and learning environments for students are being stripped away,” Ms Davies said.

The local schools to join IPS next year are:

  • Beverley District High School

  • Bruce Rock District High School

  • Hyden Primary School

  • Kondinin Primary School

  • Merredin College


    Along with five brand new schools opening in WA next year, there will be 524 Independent Public Schools in 2017.


    Ms Davies said in this latest intake more than 100 school communities applied to join the initiative and the standard was so high the initial cap of 50 schools was extended to 73.


    “These changes will assist our educators to provide the very best education possible to children and young people throughout the electorate and across the State.”


    School staff and council members will be part of a comprehensive transition program next term to prepare them for Independent Public School status.


    More information is available at:


    For media enquiries please contact Mia Davies on 08 9041 1702 (Merredin office), 08 9622 2871 (Northam office) or email