Contribute Today

More Independent Public Schools for Wagin electorate

For more information, contact Terry Waldron (MLA).

School communities in the Wagin electorate have again embraced the State Government’s Independent Public Schools (IPS) initiative.

Three schools in the Wagin electorate are among 73 to gain independent status in 2017.

Local MP Terry Waldron MLA said there had been a detailed development and selection process.

“Barriers that used to prevent principals and staff from providing the very best teaching and learning environments for students are being stripped away,” Mr Waldron said.

“Principals of Independent Public Schools in the electorate say they have never looked back.

They now have the authority at school-level to select staff, run budgets and decide how their schools operate.”


The local schools to join IPS next year are:

  • Cranbrook Primary School

  • Gnowangerup District High School

  • Western Australian College of Agriculture – Narrogin


    Along with five brand new schools opening in WA next year, there will be 524 Independent Public Schools in 2017, with more than 83 per cent of public school students.

    Nationals WA candidate for Roe Peter Rundle said in this latest intake, more than 100 school communities had applied to join the initiative and the standard was so high the initial cap of 50 schools was extended to 73.

    “This is a great day for our local schools and I look forward to hearing how community members will take a greater role in their operation,” Mr Rundle said.

    “These changes will assist our educators to provide the very best education possible to children and young people throughout the electorate and across the State.”

    School staff and council members will be part of a comprehensive transition program next term to prepare them for Independent Public School status.


More information is available at:


For media enquiries contact Terry Waldron on 9881 1225 or email or Peter Rundle on M: 0418 959 810 or E: