Contribute Today

Nominations open for waste and recycling awards

For more information, contact Dave Grills (Member for the Mining and Pastoral Region).

Regional West Australians are being encouraged to nominate for the annual Infinity Awards recognising successful projects in waste minimisation and recycling.

Member for the Mining and Pastoral Region Dave Grills MLC said community members who undertook projects to reduce waste and increase re-use and recycling could nominate.

“The Infinity Awards acknowledge and encourage individuals, business, local government and State Government agencies and community organisations that demonstrate innovation and commitment to reducing waste and increasing re-use and recycling,” Mr Grills said.

"Better waste management is a crucial step toward building more sustainable communities and it’s important that we recognise the good work already being undertaken in this field.”

Nationals WA Kimberley candidate Rob Houston said the Infinity Awards provided an opportunity for clever waste reduction and recycling projects to be shared with the wider community and to inspire others towards positive action.

“Innovation, commitment and creativity have been the hallmarks of past award recipients and I hope to see regional entrants well represented among this year’s winners,” Mr Houston said.

“Regional communities often face a particular set of challenges when it comes to waste management.”

Under the Liberal National Government's Waste Strategy: Creating the Right Environment, the recovery target for municipal solid waste in Perth is 65 per cent by 2020 and in major regional centres, 50 per cent by 2020.

State-wide recovery targets for the commercial and industrial sector are 70 per cent by 2020 and for construction and demolition waste the State-wide target is 75 per cent by 2020.

The Infinity Award winners will be announced on September 15, 2016 at the annual Waste and Recycle Conference.

The award categories are: Waste Wise Schools; business; community; local government; State Government and universities; and waste champion.

Nominations close at midnight on July 17, 2016. For more information, please visit