Contribute Today

Regional visitor centre grant recipients announced, Grills

For more information, contact Dave Grills (Member for the Mining and Pastoral Region).

36 regional communities are set to benefit from innovative projects at their local visitor centres thanks to the latest round of the State Government’s Regional Visitor Centre Sustainability Grant Program.

The investment of $4.2 million over three years in the program is made possible by Tourism WA and Royalties for Regions.

Member for the Mining and Pastoral Region Dave Grills MLC said the program was helping regional visitor centres remain viable and adapt to the changing tourism landscape.

“Visitor centres play a vital role in boosting regional tourism, employment and skills development in our regions,” Mr Grills said.

“Overall, visitor centres employ more than 900 local people and inject $117 million into the State’s economy annually.

“I am glad to see funding delivered to visitor centres in the Kimberley, Goldfields, Mid West, Gascoyne and Pilbara regions.”

Nationals WA Candidate for the Kimberley Rob Houston said research showed that travellers tend to spend more time and money in an area when they use a visitor centre.

“Tourists spent $4.5 billion in regional Western Australia in 2015-16. By offering a warm welcome and a wealth of local knowledge, visitor centres play a vital role in this important industry,” Mr Houston said.

“This investment is particularly important in a region like the Kimberley which has significant tourism potential.”

This round of grants will go towards implementing a new design and upgraded technology at Broome Visitor Centre; an internal fitout at Derby Visitor Centre to improve product displays; interior Aboriginal artwork and exterior seating for Halls Creek Visitor Centre; and new signage for the Kununurra Visitor Centre and Argyle Homestead Museum.

More than $1 million was available in the 2016-17 round to assist regional visitor centres throughout the State with sustainability initiatives such as accreditation, renewable energy, on-site attractions, technology and interior redesign.

Successful recipients of RVCSGP 2016-17 in the Mining and Pastoral Region include:

• Broome Visitor Centre

• Derby Tourist Bureau

• Exmouth Visitor Centre

• Meekatharra Community Resource Centre

• Newman Visitor Centre

• Kununurra Visitor Centre

• Shire of Carnarvon; Carnarvon Visitor Centre

• Shire of Coolgardie; Coolgardie Visitor Centre

• Shire of Halls Creek; Halls Creek Visitor Centre

• Shire of Sandstone; Sandstone Visitor Information Centre

• Shire of Shark Bay; Shark Bay Discovery and Visitor Centre

For more information visit:

For media enquiries contact Dave Grills MLC on (08) 9071 500(08) 9071 500 or email